Home EventsMoto X WTW Hits up the MX National Finals!

WTW Hits up the MX National Finals!

by admin

Australia’s 2011 motocross champions will be decided within the next 10 days as the running for the Rockstar Energy Drink MX Nationals, Australian Motocross Championship, heads into its vital final stages on consecutive weekends.

This is an irresistible showdown to a brilliant season of MX and WTW magazine will be at the event in Coolum with our famous WTW girls to witness all the action. As always there will be magazines, lovely ladies and lots more free gifts to keep you entertained whenever there is a break in the racing action!

This Sunday, 24 July, will see the penultimate round played out at Moree in country New South Wales, before the Sunshine Coast gets set to host a thrilling season finale at Coolum on 30-31 July.

Monster Energy Kawasaki’s 21-year-old sensation Dean Ferris is ranked at the top of the charts at this point, with a four-way fight taking shape in recent rounds. Ferris currently maintains a slim 14-point advantage over former world number two Josh Coppins (CDR Rockstar Energy Yamaha).

“The goal is to try and get a round win, there’s no such thing as riding defensive when the points are so close,” Ferris explained. I’m just going to do what I have done every round and go for it. I just want to go for wins and try to clinch that overall. That’s plan A and that’s all I’m going to think about.”

Kiwi hero Coppins knows what it takes to succeed at the very top of the sport after a glorious 15-year career in Europe, but the 34-year-old has found the competition challenging since coming to Australia this year.

“I said prior to the last round that now is the time to win races and the same still applies,” Coppins commented. “The points are tight at the top and the rider who makes the least mistakes is going to win this championship. My game plan is still to win races, that’s what CDR employed me to do and it’s my job to do it.”
Another international sits third in the standings, Ferris’ teammate and another grand prix winner, Billy Mackenzie. The Scottish star has featured strongly all year long, sitting 16 points off the series lead with eight motos to go this season.

“There are still many points on offer and I’m looking forward to getting back to Coolum for the final round,” Mackenzie said. “It’s a track I did well at last year and a few solid moto results will put me well and truly in the mix for the championship.”

Three-time champion Jay Marmont (CDR Rockstar Energy Yamaha) cannot be ruled out at 32 points off the lead with two rounds remaining, the 28-year-old Wollongong resident coming off the back of two round wins in succession at Coonabarabran and Wodonga respectively.

“I’m 32 points from the lead and I’m not going to let my number one plate go without a fight,” Marmont said. “All I can do is keep winning races at the final two rounds and not worry about what happens behind me.”

JDR Motorex KTM’s Matt Moss is in line to secure his second Motul Pro Lites title, the 23-year-old stretching out a 58-point buffer with victory at Wodonga earlier this month. Moss has won four rounds to date and he’s focused on adding the crown to his 2009 championship.

“I’m looking forward to Moree, I’ve never raced there before, so we just want to win this championship and grab that number one plate,” Moss explained. “I just need to get back to riding the way I was, with no mistakes and injury-free.”

Moss is chased by Serco Yoshimura Yamaha’s Kirk Gibbs, winner of the South Australia round, before a three-way fight for the number three position will continue between American Phil Nicoletti (Monster Energy Kawasaki), Dan McCoy (Rockstar Motul Suzuki) and Brenden Harrison (JDR Motorex KTM). Just 10 points separate that trio, albeit 28 points in arrears of Gibbs.

In the Pirelli Under 19s development category, Raceline Pirelli Suzuki’s Errol Willis simply needs to maintain his consistency in order to clinch his first senior national title in the closing rounds.

Willis has a 76-point lead over GYTR Rockstar Energy Yamaha’s Luke Arbon, with his teammate Shaun Redhead positioned third overall as he continues to gain momentum. Dylan Peterson (Team 07 Axis Motorsports Honda), Jake Emanuelli (Hart and Huntington/Yamaha) and Jay Wilson (Coastal KTM) will also contend.

Another storyline to keep an eye on is one of great reward for two of the nation’s leading privateer riders. Western Australian Louis Calvin, 21, has been granted the opportunity of a lifetime with a seat at the factory JDR Motorex KTM team in the Pro Opens, while Luke Styke will now feature under the Serco Yoshimura Yamaha banner to round out the season in the Lites.

Round eight of the 2011 Rockstar Energy Drink MX Nationals will be contested at Moree in New South Wales on Sunday, 24 July. Practice and qualifying will commence at 8:30am with the official opening ceremonies taking place at approximately 10:30am.

The season will conclude one weekend later, with round nine of the 2011 Rockstar Energy Drink MX Nationals scheduled to be contested at Coolum in Queensland on the weekend of 30-31 July.

Visit the Rockstar Energy Drink MX Nationals’ all-new website at www.mxnationals.com.au for complete series and round information on the 2011 season.

Spectator Entry Information:
Adults – $30
Children (5-15yrs) – $15
Children (Under 5yrs) – Free
Family (2 adults, 2 children) – $70

2011 Rockstar Energy Drink MX Nationals
Championship Standings (after 7 of 9 rounds):

Rockstar Energy Drink Pro Open
1. Dean Ferris 523
2. Josh Coppins 509
3. Billy Mackenzie 507
4. Jay Marmont 491
5. Cheyne Boyd 436
6. Michael Phillips 415
7. Lawson Bopping 375
8. Cody Cooper 344
9. Louis Calvin 268
10. Daniel Reardon 226

Motul Pro Lites
1. Matt Moss 503
2. Kirk Gibbs 445
3. Phil Nicoletti 417
4. Daniel McCoy 410
5. Brenden Harrison 407
6. Justin McDonald 366
7. Kade Mosig 361
8. Josh Cachia 358
9. Cody Mackie 350
10. Luke Styke 324

Pirelli Under 19s
1. Errol Willis 556
2. Luke Arbon 480
3. Shaun Redhead 444
4. Dylan Peterson 385
5. Jake Emanuelli 359
6. Kyle McKeddie 345
7. Jay Wilson 326
8. Sam Martin 243
9. Kale Makeham 235
10. Dan Banks 226

Related Articles