Home Industry News Monster Energy MX Nationals update

Monster Energy MX Nationals update

by admin

The Monster Energy MX Nationals will converge on Murray Bridge’s fifth round of the 2012 Australian Motocross Championship in South Australia on Sunday, 20 May.

Over 20 world class international riders have competed throughout all three national championship classes – MX1, MX2 and MXD – so far in the 2012 season, making for a truly international series on Australian soil.

It’s been an all-international whitewash at the top of the podium in the premier MX1 class following four of 10 rounds, with the Murray Bridge round serving as mid-round of the season before the series takes a six-week break from competition.

New Zealand’s former world number two Josh Coppins has set the pace so far for CDR Yamaha to lead the title, winning at both Coonabarabran and Wanneroo, which was contested last weekend. With experience on his side and in his final year of professional racing, last year’s MXN runner-up has been inch-perfect to date.

“The team’s working really well and we’re gelling together,” Coppins said. “I’m trying to help Lawson [Bopping] and Craig [Dack] has also got a lot of experience.

“I was thinking about it after the weekend and I think all the success that the team has had is not just luck, it comes down to preparation and work from the whole team. The proof is in the results.”

Coppins leads the series over dual British champion Brad Anderson, who won round three at Wonthaggi for Carlton Dry Honda Thor Racing. Anderson’s teammate Ben Townley, another Kiwi, won the season opener at Conondale before injury forced him out of the proceedings.

Last year’s leading contenders at Murray Bridge, Billy Mackenzie and Dean Ferris, will be missing from the action next weekend. After winning last year, Monster Energy Kawasaki’s Mackenzie is out injured, while Ferris has gone on to compete in the Motocross World Championship.

Replacing Ferris at Kawasaki is four-time defending series champion Jay Marmont, who sits a lowly seventh in the standings to date, but did break through for a moto win aboard the KX450F in WA. Marmont was fourth in South Australia 12 months ago.

The Motul MX2 category has also been a relentless affair to date, with Serco Yamaha Metal Mulisha Racing revelation Luke Styke leading the series at this stage of the season after winning at both Coonabarabran and Wanneroo. He currently heads Carlton Dry Honda Thor Racing’s Ford Dale and teammate Kirk Gibbs, with all three claiming round victories so far in 2012.

South Australian local Gibbs will be eager to get his season back on track after winning the round at Murray Bridge last year, and he’s well aware that it’s vital he peg back teammate Styke in the standings as the series reaches its halfway point.

“This year I seem to struggle to string three races together to make a good round,” Gibbs explained. “With Luke being so consistent, no rider can afford to drop motos. But we head to my home state [this] week and its time I got it together and put in three good races at the level I’m capable of.”

The Pirelli MX Development class will resume after the nation’s top Under 19s racers sat out the WA stop on the calendar. The class is so far led by round one winner Dylan Long for Choice Motorsports KTM, from fellow teenage tearaways Sam Martin and Dylan Leary.

The Murray Bridge round of the Monster Energy MX Nationals will take place in South Australia on Sunday, 20 May. Visit www.mxnationals.com.au for further information on the Monster Energy MX Nationals series.

2012 Monster Energy MX Nationals, Australian Motocross Championship

Murray Bridge Rd5 Event Information:
Adults $30
Children (aged 5-15 years) $15
Family (two adults and two children aged 5-15 years) $70
Gates Open 7.00am
Practice Starts 8.30am

Series Calendar:
Rd1 – 1 April – Conondale, QLD
Rd2 – 14-15 April – Coonabarabran, NSW
Rd3 – 28-29 April – Wonthaggi, VIC
Rd4 – 12-13 May – Wanneroo, WA
Rd5 – 20 May – Murray Bridge, SA
Rd6 – 1 July – Hervey Bay, QLD
Rd7 – 15 July – Barrabool, VIC
Rd8 – 29 July – Appin, NSW
Rd9 – 19 August – Moree, NSW
Rd10 – 25-26 August – Coolum, QLD

MX1 Championship Standings (after 4 of 10 rounds):
1. Josh Coppins 253
2. Brad Anderson 211
3. Todd Waters 208
4. Lawson Bopping     203
5. Cody Cooper 183
6. Tye Simmonds 178
7. Jay Marmont 177
8. Jake Moss 157
9. Daniel McCoy 125
10. Daniel Reardon 107

MX2 Championship Standings (after 4 of 10 rounds):
1. Luke Styke 260
2. Ford Dale 221
3. Kirk Gibbs 199
4. Cheyne Boyd 198
5. Josh Cachia 195
6. Kade Mosig 194
7. Adam Monea 190
8. Justin McDonald 143
9. Lewis Woods 134
10. Errol Willis 131

MXD Championship Standings (after 3 of 9 rounds):
1. Dylan Long 168
2. Sam Martin 157
3. Dylan leary 157
4. Kayne Lamont 155
5. Kale Makeham 152
6. Joel Milesevic 131
7. Jay Wilson 128
8. Mitch Norris 123
9. Mitch Budd 90
10. Dylan Wills 87

Josh Coppins leads the premier MX1 category into Murray Bridge. Image: Adam Riemann

Related Articles